Women and Children’s Free Restaurant

Standard

The Women’s and Children’s Free Restaurant provides healthy food to underprivileged women and their children. Volunteers bring FREE food out to them on REAL plates with REAL cutlery and sit down with them to converse.  I will cover the behind the scenes aspect of this organization (the food-making process, the funding, etc.). However, I think it is important to include highlights of the customers who are being served.  I have some contacts: Executive Director Marlene Alford, Chef Karen Torkelson, and Accountant Jeanine McKinney. I plan to interview these people and to contact one or two customers to get their feedback. I will  film the customers eating and photograph the volunteers sitting and conversing with them. I believe that this story is relatable, especially here at Whitworth, because it speaks to part of our mission statement: to serve humanity. I would say that this restaurant is doing that and upholding the dignity of individuals too. We think about helping the poor by giving them what we don’t need. This restaurant strives to serve them on so many levels and treats them like regular human beings instead of people who deserve leftovers. It could also appeal to morals considering many  believe in helping those in need. I want to spread the word because Whitworth students are equipped to volunteer in places like this to truly serve humanity. Image

Leave a comment